SCIO introduces 8th batch of national historical and cultural sites

The eighth batch of China's Major Historical and Cultural Site Protected at the National Level include 762 entities, Liu Yuzhu, director of the State Administration of Cultural Heritage (SACI), told a press conference in Beijing on Thursday.

Among the newly-listed are 167 ancient sites, 30 ancient tombs, 280 ancient buildings, 39 grotto temples and stone carvings, 234 important historical sites, and representative buildings in modern times, Liu noted. Twelve sites were not classified. Most of those sites are in Shanxi, Henan, Zhejiang, Anhui, and Hunan provinces.

China has so far a total of 5,058 major historical and cultural sites under national protection, including 1,194 ancient sites, 418 ancient tombs, 2,160 ancient buildings, 307 grotto temples, and stone carvings, 952 important historical sites and representative buildings in modern times, and 27 others, Liu said. The provinces of Shanxi, Henan, Hebei, Zhejiang, and Shaanxi own the most cultural sites.

Liu also introduced the selection process that started in March and the work arrangements for the next step. In order to strengthen the protection of these sites, the administration will focus on improving management, departmental cooperation and promoting a proper use of cultural heritage resources.