Pioneers in fight against poverty win 2019 Nobel economics prize

Economists Abhijit Banerjee, Esther Duflo and Michael Kremer won the 2019 Nobel Economics Prize for creating an experimental approach to alleviating global poverty today. Banerjee and Duflo are both at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, while Kremer is at Harvard University. Duflo becomes the second female economics winner in the prize's 50-year history, as well as the youngest at 46.