Zhenjiang: Mountains in the river

Zhenjiang City in east China's Jiangsu Province was once called Jingkou in the Three Kingdoms Period (220-280).

The city is located at the cross of the Yangtze River and the Beijing-Hangzhou Grand Canal. Silt and other kinds of sediments have been deposited there, creating a small island in the river.

There are three mountains on the island, respectively Jiaoshan, Beigu and Jinshan mountains from east to west, being called the "Three mountains in Jingkou."

Jiaoshan Mountain, the highest among the three, has an elevation of 70.7 meters and covers an area of 38 hectares. It is the only island for tourism in the Yangtze River that is completely surrounded by water, looking like a floating piece of jade.

In the middle is Beigu Mountain with 52 meters in height, followed by Jinshan Mountain, which is the smallest among the three, with an elevation of 42 meters. Once sitting in the Yangtze River, Jinshan is now some distance away due to the changes of the river's course.

Although not as splendid or magnificent as many other famous mountain ranges, the three beautiful mountains have become a must-see landmark along the Yangtze.

(Cover image a screenshot from the video)

(If you want to contribute and have specific expertise, please contact us at nature@cgtn.com.)