Exclusive with HKSAR Dy Commissioner of Police (National Security) Edwina Lau
Updated 21:25, 06-Jul-2020

The Committee for Safeguarding National Security of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (HKSAR) was established on July 3, as required by the national security law.

In accordance with stipulations of the Law of the People's Republic of China on Safeguarding National Security in the HKSAR, the committee is chaired by HKSAR Chief Executive Carrie Lam.

Edwina Lau, on the nomination by Lam, was sworn in as the deputy commissioner of police (national security) and the head of the department for safeguarding national security of the Hong Kong Police Force.