Hong Kong SAR govt. adds UK to high-risk COVID-19 countries

The Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (HKSAR) government on Thursday announced it will add the UK to a list of high-risk COVID-19 countries, according to an official release.

In accordance to the latest public health risk assessment, as well as the changes and developments of the epidemic, the United Kingdom will be added to the list and the measure will take effect from October 1 and remain effective until further notice, the statement said. 

So far, the HKSAR government has listed Bangladesh, Ethiopia, India, Indonesia, Kazakhstan, Nepal, Pakistan, the Philippines, South Africa, the U.S. and UK to the list of high-risk COVID-19 countries.

International arrivals from these countries are required to undergo nucleic acid testing for COVID-19.

The test result should be negative and the sample taken from the relevant traveler should be within 72 hours before the scheduled departure of the flight, the statement noted. 

Hong Kong reported seven new COVID-19 cases on Thursday, according to its Center for Health Protection. Four of the cases were from outside Hong Kong, while the three others were locally transmitted.

The region has so far reported 5,056 confirmed COVID-19 cases, with 104 deaths. 

(Cover: CFP file photo)