Our Privacy Statement & Cookie Policy

By continuing to browse our site you agree to our use of cookies, revised Privacy Policy and Terms of Use. You can change your cookie settings through your browser.

I agree

Sultan Ibrahim sworn in as new Malaysian king


 , Updated 11:56, 31-Jan-2024

Sultan Ibrahim Sultan Iskandar was sworn in as Malaysia's 17th king in a ceremony on Wednesday.

Ibrahim, born in 1958, has reigned over Johor state, which borders Singapore, since 2010.

Malaysia is a constitutional monarchy, with nine sultans or rulers, who head their respective state and act as the religious leader, taking turns to serve as king for a five-year term.

Search Trends