Snooker World Championship: Ding Junhui crashes out to Judd Trump
China's Ding Junhui suffered a 13-9 loss to home player Judd Trump in a dramatical quarter-final match at the Snooker World Championship on Monday.
Ding, the 2016 runner-up of the Championship, had fallen 5-1 behind against Trump on Saturday but made breaks of 81, 55 and 60 to hold a two-frame lead going into Monday evening's final session. But the Masters champion Trump went on to make three more half-centuries and then a 103 to seal the victory.
Ding said, "He played great this evening. I only got a few chances. He came back strongly this evening and looked very good."
"I've probably been the worst player of the whole tournament so far but I was pleased to respond under pressure," said Trump.
Trump will face former UK champion Stephen Maguire in the quarter-finals starting on Tuesday. Talking about the next round, Trump admits that facing Stephen is not easy.
"I can't afford to start this way against Stephen otherwise I'll be too far back and I'll be going home," he added.
Judd Trump battles back to deny Ding Junhui. /VCG Photo

Judd Trump battles back to deny Ding Junhui. /VCG Photo

England's two-time finalist Ali Carter reached the last eight by coming from behind to beat China's Zhou Yuelong 13-9.
Zhou made two centuries to lead 5-1 and 9-7 in the first two sessions, but Carter soon won six frames in a row to fight back.
"Actually I have a chance in the last two frames, but I was nervous and fail to make it," Said Zhou.
The 21-year-old pulled off a notable giant-killing feat by defeating sixth seed Mark Allen to reach last 16. However, Zhou felt not good in the past two weeks as pressure goes under way since qualifiers started.
"Now the game has finished and I can relax."
In a high-quality contest, 'the Warrior' Kyren Wilson made a stunning comeback from a five-frame deficit to beat Barry Hawkins 13-11.
Four-time winner John Higgins also booked his place in a 13-11 win over 2015 champion Stuart Bingham. Higgins is now ready to set up a quarter-final clash with the title favorite Neil Robertson.


David Gilbert vs Kyren Wilson
John Higgins vs Neil Robertson
Gary Wilson vs Ali Carter
Judd Trump vs Stephen Maguire