The 12 animals of the Chinese Zodiac: Rabbit
Ding Qian

The rabbit is the fourth of all Chinese zodiac animals. It corresponds to mǎo (卯) in the 12 Earthly Branches and is associated with the hours 5 to 7 in the morning. In Chinese culture, people born in the Year of the Rabbit are supposed to be kind, social and sensitive.

In nature, the rabbit is very vigilant and cautious. They can dig sophisticated tunnels and some can grow as big as a toddler. Here are some more fascinating facts about this cute creature.

1. Rabbits need more than carrots. 

In contrast to the common belief that rabbits like eating carrots, the animal actually prefers greens like grasses and clovers. Carrots, which contain a lot of sugar, can actually cause tooth decay in many rabbits.

2. Rabbits eat their own poop.

Rabbits produce a special kind of poop called night feces which are usually softer than their normal waste. These feces are actually nutritious, containing protein and vitamins. By eating these feces, rabbits are able to absorb more nutrients. So don't get upset when you see your rabbit eat its own poop, it's part of their diet.

3. Rabbits' teeth never stop growing!

Just like human nails, rabbits' teeth never stop growing. Therefore, they need to chew in order to keep their teeth short. Overgrown front teeth can cause painful problems. So if you have a pet bunny, make sure to provide it with the correct diet rich in fiber.

4. What does a "binky" mean?

Sometimes you can see rabbits jump up in mid-air and spin around. This cute behavior is known as a "binky," which means the rabbit is having a good time and feeling happy.

5. Rabbits are hygienic.

Like cats, rabbits always try to keep themselves clean by licking their fur and paws. To keep your rabbit healthy, you need to provide it with a clean and dry place to live in. To prevent rabbits from getting any kind of infections, their droppings should be removed daily.

6. Rabbits can see nearly 360 degrees.

With eyes placed on the sides of their heads, rabbits' vision covers nearly 360 degrees. But they are partially color blind as they are sensitive to only two colors, blue and green.

The 12 animals of the Chinese zodiac

The Chinese zodiacs are based on a 12-year cycle, with each year related to an animal: rat, ox, tiger, rabbit, dragon, snake, horse, sheep, monkey, rooster, dog and pig.

But how much do you know about these animals and their symbolic meanings in Chinese zodiac? Follow the series to find out.

For more:

The 12 animals of the Chinese Zodiac: Ox

The 12 animals of the Chinese Zodiac: Tiger

(If you want to contribute and have specific expertise, please contact us at