Japan expands state of emergency to 7 more prefectures
Updated 18:33, 13-Jan-2021

Japanese Prime Minister Yoshihide Suga declared a state of emergency over the COVID-19 pandemic in seven more prefectures, including Osaka and Aichi on Wednesday, broadening the scope of the measure amid a resurgence of the pandemic across the country.

The newly declared prefectures, including Tochigi to the north of Tokyo, Gifu in central Japan, Hyogo and Kyoto in the west, and Fukuoka to the southwest, will keep the state of emergency in place through February 7.

Under the state of emergency, people in the affected areas will be asked to refrain from making unnecessary trips outdoors, and restaurants and bars will be requested to close by 8:00 p.m. 

Japan has already declared a state of emergency for the Tokyo area last Thursday, which will also run through February 7.

The Asian country now has nearly 300,000 infections since the start of the pandemic, and over 3,900 people have lost their lives.

(With input from Xinhua News Agency)

Search Trends