The 12 animals of the Chinese Zodiac: Dog
Ding Qian

Dog is the 11th of 12 Chinese zodiac animals. It is associated with xū (戌) in the 12 Earthly Branches and the hours 7 to 9 in the evening. In Chinese culture, people born in the Year of the Dog are believed to be loyal and cautious, just like dogs in real life.

Do you think you know everything about dogs, human's best friend? Check out these fascinating facts that you might not have heard.

1. Dogs can feel jealous.

According to a study carried out at the University of California, San Diego, dogs can feel jealous when their owners display affection to other creatures. This may sounds familiar to owners of multiple dogs who have seen dogs pushing each other for attention.

2. Dog's nose stays wet and serves multiple purposes

The sense of smell is vital to a dog. Unlike humans who mainly depend on vision to survive the world, dogs actually focus more on what they smell than what they see. Moreover, wet nose can help dogs smell better by trapping the scent particles floating in the air.

3. Every dog's nose is unique.

Just like a human fingerprint, no two dogs' noses are the same. Each nose has a unique pattern of ridges and creases.

4. Dogs' sleep patterns are similar to humans.

Just like humans, dogs also dream, and the smaller breeds are more likely to dream than larger ones. What do they dream about though? Probably the activities they do during the day time, such as chasing their tails or running outside.

5. Dogs have three eyelids.

Besides the upper and lower lids, dogs actually have the third eyelid that is only seen when there is something wrong with the eye. The third eyelid has its own name: haw or the nictitating membrane. The eyelids keep the dog's eyes moist and protected. So, during sessions of intense hunting, they don't have to blink their eyes.

6. Not all dogs bark

The Basenji dog breed is unique. They don't bark; they are known to whine or scream.

7. Dogs have amazing hearing abilities.

Although puppies are born deaf, an adult can hear four times as far as humans. They can also hear high-pitched sounds.

The 12 animals of the Chinese Zodiac 

The Chinese zodiac is based on a 12-year cycle, with each year related to an animal: rat, ox, tiger, rabbit, dragon, snake, horse, sheep, monkey, rooster, dog and pig. 

But how much do you know about these animals and their symbolic meaning in Chinese zodiac? Follow the series to find out.

Read more:

The 12 animals of the Chinese Zodiac: Ox

The 12 animals of the Chinese Zodiac: Tiger

The 12 animals of the Chinese Zodiac: Rabbit

The 12 animals of the Chinese Zodiac: Dragon

The 12 animals of the Chinese Zodiac: Snake

The 12 animals of the Chinese Zodiac: Horse

The 12 animals of the Chinese Zodiac: Goat

The 12 animals of the Chinese Zodiac: Monkey

The 12 animals of the Chinese Zodiac: Rooster

(Cover is designed by CGTN's Li Yueyun.)

(If you want to contribute and have specific expertise, please contact us at